Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Florida has Answers to Your Claim Questions
Many people know little about Florida’s Workers’ Compensation laws which can prevent them from looking into filing a disability claim. Because of this our Florida Workers’ Compensation attorneys have provided you with answers to some of the most common questions regarding the law and your rights.
Do I have a work-related injury?
A work-related injury is any injury that an employee sustained while working his or her job duties. These injuries can be from a work-related illness due to the work conditions or from an unforeseen accident. Some injuries can include repetitive motion injuries linked to carpal tunnel syndrome. You can find more about Florida workers’ compensation laws here.
Is my injury covered by worker’s comp?
Workers’ Compensation benefits cover those employees that suffer either physical or mental injuries while on the job. It can also cover occupational diseases and repeated trauma work injuries.
What is the deadline for filing an injury claim?
The employee must report an on-the-job injury to their employer within 30 days of the injury. Once this has been done the employee can file a workers’ compensation claim within a two year period.
What Workers’ Comp benefits can I receive?
All necessary medical treatments, drugs, rehab and testing must be provided by the employer’s healthcare provider. You can also receive compensation for missed time at work, death benefits and permanent disability payments if you qualify.
Can I recover any lost wages?
An employee can receive up to two-thirds of their total wages if they are unable to work. The amount paid can vary depending on the extent of the disability.
When will I get my Workers’ Comp check?
Your first check will most likely arrive in 21 days of your injury report.
Will my boss let me go?
Florida law prevents a worker from being fired because they filed a workers’ comp claim.
Will I be able to file a lawsuit against my employer?
An employee can not sue their employer over a workers’ compensation injury claim. Workers’ Comp is a unique solution which does not allow employees to sue their employers. You are able to sue anyone else that might have been responsible for your job accident.
Can I get coverage if the injury was my fault?
Florida workers’ compensation will be paid out to you even if the injury was your fault. The only exception to this is in the event an employee purposely intended to cause harm to him or herself.
What can I do if my boss will not report my Florida workers’ comp injury?
If your employer will not report your injury to their insurance company you can report it directly yourself. Don’t be intimidated by an unresponsive employer, take action yourself.
Contact a Florida Workers’ Compensation Attorney To Get The Money You Deserve For Your Work Injury
If your workers’ comp claim has been denied or you are receiving inadequate benefits contact our Florida Workers’ Compensation Attorneys at The Broderick Law Firm. We have helped thousands of injury victims recover settlements for their injuries, losses, and pain & suffering. Get your free case evaluation today by calling 1-800-333-3903 or emailing our Florida workers’ comp lawyers.