What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Coverages in Florida?
Car insurance protects you and others in the event of a motor vehicle accident. Florida requires drivers to maintain a minimum amount of coverage. Florida is a no-fault insurance state meaning that your insurance coverage will pay your damages up to the policy limits. You must exhaust your no-fault insurance coverage before you can sue another driver for damages.
Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in Florida
In order to purchase and maintain a Florida license plate and registration for your vehicle, state law requires that you have two types of automobile insurance. The car insurance policy must be issued by an insurance company licensed to provide insurance by the Florida Department of Financial Services.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law requires that you purchase at least $10,000 in PIP insurance coverage. PIP insurance, also referred to as Florida No Fault Insurance, covers you, members of your household, your children, and passengers in your vehicle who do not have PIP coverage regardless of who is at fault for a car accident. Your PIP insurance also covers your child while riding a school bus and protects you when you are in another person’s vehicle, on your bicycle, and as a pedestrian. The law requires a minimum of $10,000; however, you can purchase additional coverage.
- Property Damage Liability (PDL) – In addition to $10,000 PIP coverage, Florida requires you to have at least $10,000 coverage for property damage you cause to another person’s vehicle in a car accident.
If you fail to maintain the minimum car insurance coverage, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your driving privileges for up to three years or until you provide proof of car insurance. Your license plate and registration will also be suspended. There is no provision for a restricted driver’s license so that you can go to and from work; therefore, failing to maintain insurance can severely affect your ability to earn a living.
In addition to suspending your driving privileges, license plate, and registration, you will be charged a reinstatement fee of $150 to $500 if you provide proof of car insurance to reinstate your driving privileges, license plate, and registration.
Additional Car Insurance Coverage
Your insurance company may offer other types of automobile insurance coverage in addition to Florida’s minimum car insurance coverage. You can purchase additional insurance from your insurance company at your discretion. Before you decide to purchase additional insurance, you should review the terms and policies with your insurance agent to ensure that you understand the coverage terms and conditions, especially any exclusions to the policy.
Have You Been Injured in a Florida Car Accident?
You may be entitled to receive compensation from the at-fault driver once you have exhausted your PIP insurance. If you have been injured because of another person’s reckless, negligent, or careless actions The Broderick Law Firm, P.L. wants to help you. Even though Florida is a no-fault insurance state, you may encounter problems with your insurance company.